What are the Ecclesiastical Ministry Bursary Awards?

Ecclesiastical’s MBA grants are awarded to individual clergy in the Anglican Church in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and Europe. The grants are open to Ministers, Archdeacons, Bishops, Deans and Assistants1.

The MBAs can help you breathe life into your ministerial development in ways that enrich both you and the wider church. The experience of a sabbatical can be life-changing for individual clergy and have a long-lasting impact on your congregation and community. Read case studies from previous recipients below.

Since being established in 1987, the Ecclesiastical Ministry Bursary Awards have provided over £1.35 million to help over 1,400 members of the clergy to finance a wide range of extended leave projects and plans.

The application window is now closed for 2024 sabbaticals. Judging will take place in November 2023 with the awards made in December 2023.

Good luck to all those currently on sabbatical, or planning to next year.

Study leave for clergy is an immensely valuable opportunity to re-energise and re-focus their calling.

The Ministry Bursary Awards have made a significant contribution to supporting time away from the parish and a major contribution to clergy well-being and their resourcing.

The Venerable Ian Bishop, Archdeacon of Macclesfield

Judging criteria

Judging of the 2024 entries will take place during November 2023 and awards will be made in December 2023.

The amount given for individual awards will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Value to the individual applicant
  • Benefit to the wider church
  • Financial support already committed from other sources
  • The strength of the endorsement from a Bishop or Archdeacon supporting the plans.

1 Assistants are classified as Assistant Curates, Deacons and Licensed Lay Workers including Church Army Evangelists engaged in the parochial ministry. Source: GS Misc 1243 published by the Archbishops’ Council 2019.

This section is not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority or the Prudential Regulation Authority.